Beef teriyaki stir fry

I am on a diet. Yes. It’s true. I lost a bunch of weight back before I was diagnosed with Crohn’s disease last October. Then I had to go on a course of corticosteroids (off which I am still weaning myself) which, among a plethora of other side effects, led me to put on about 10kg.

Now, I’ve never been small. I’ve got a large frame and I’m okay with that. I even like having curves to an extent. But now that I’m almost off the steroids I feel I need to start being healthy again and lose the excess weight.

Last Saturday I was surfing Facebook and came across the profile of a girl who was in my university course. She’s been on a healthy eating regime for a few months now, and has lost 14kg. She’s looking wonderful and also feeling wonderful about herself. I started reading her blog and decided, there and then, to follow suit. Pizza is lovely, but so is fitting into your favourite pair of jeans.

So I’ve been eating more consciously and healthily since Monday. I want to increase my intake of fruit and veg and limit my complex carbs.This means I’ve replaced most of my fatty snacks with apples and yoghurt and have stopped eating complex carbs at night.

That’s not to say I don’t crave a good plate of chips (I do! So much!) but I’m a woman of my word and I am sticking to this one.

It’s hard, though, to come up with ideas for complex carb free supper recipes for myself (but with which I can make some rice or potatoes for Andrew if he wants them). I’ve managed so far, but if you guys have any ideas I’d love to hear them.

Anyway, this is what we had for supper last night. Andrew had it with rice, but I had it as is and was perfectly satiated afterward.

How you make it
Marinate your beef in three tablespoons of teriyaki sauce and add two teaspoons of sesame seeds. Chop two large onions, a handful of mushrooms, fresh garlic, fresh asparagus, one carrot and a large green or red pepper.
Heat some olive oil in a wok and cook the onions and garlic a bit. Add some beef (I used minute steak, sliced into bite-sized pieces but I guess any cut will do). When it starts to brown, add the vegetables, a handful of peanuts and a splash of soy sauce. Sprinkle some dried ginger and stir-fry it until the beef is cooked. Add a bit of fresh coriander and mix through, then serve and enjoy.

1 Comment

Filed under recipes

One response to “Beef teriyaki stir fry

  1. the details in this sound interesting: sesame seeds, peanuts… hmm must try! nom nom

Leave a Reply

