Paint it Black

Since I graduated university I’m not reading nearly as many books as I used to. It’s not that I don’t enjoy reading; that’s not it at all. I read English at University, which meant we had some 25 odd novels to study every year, as well as plays, poems and essays. I guess after that anybody would need a break from it. I remember saying to myself, when I was studying, ‘once I’ve graduated I’ll finally get down to reading all the books I want to read’.

But then life catches up with you. Now I’m a sub-editor and it is my job to read. All I do is read, read, read at work – which means that when I get home the last thing I want to do is read. Still, I try to find time for it. I try, when I can, to read at least a chapter of a book before I go to bed.

The last book I read was Paint it Black, by Janet Fitch. I have to say it took me a lot longer to read it than it should have, but that’s because I was busy and not because the book was not interesting.

I remember having watched the film adaptation of Fitch’s White Oleander when I was younger and enjoying it, although I had never read the book. And I know you shouldn’t judge a book by its cover but, well, I do. And the cover of this book attracted me.

It tells the story of Josie Tyrell, a teenage runaway and artist’s model/actress living in punk rock 1980s LA. Her life is a cocktail of sex, drugs, rock n’ roll and she lives with her lover Michael Faraday, who is her opposite. His mother is a pianist of international repute, he was educated at an Ivy League college. He is dark and moody and is happy to let Josie work three jobs to support them while he paints.

One day, however, he tells Josie he is going to his mother’s house for some solitude; instead, he goes to a motel in the middle of nowhere and shoots himself in the head.

Josie is left to pick up the pieces. She repeats scenes in her head, wondering what could have driven Michael to do such a thing and is absolutely devastated by it. She also has to deal with Michael’s mother, Meredith, who believes Josie stole her son away from her.

The plot is pretty thin, but I’ve come to pay more importance to character development and writing style and this book is rich in both. Fitch fleshes out her characters with nuances and thoughts, giving them all unique stories. They are very believable. And her prose verges on poetry. It is sensual and visceral. She draws heavily on themes and moods from T.S. Eliot’s The Waste Land, with recurring motifs such as the tarot, the desert – even the kitsch interior of Meredith Loewy’s house draws strong parallels with the poem’s second movement – ‘A Game of Chess’.

Definitely not light reading but certainly a book I would recommend – right up there with the likes of Jeffrey Eugenides’ The Virgin Suicides.

5 Comments

Filed under books

5 responses to “Paint it Black

  1. oooh… sounds like a book I could definitely enjoy reading.

    I am quite like you ta. I told myself I would read a book a month. Obviously never happened. I have so many un-read books at home. I have to stop watching tv before bed and pick up a book.

  2. Hehe yeah I have so many books on my shelves I haven’t read yet – and I keep buying new ones! Must stop that =)

  3. I’ve read that too and found it hard to get through it – it seems simple enough at first but the air gets thick and I found myself getting lost in my own thoughts at times.

    White Oleander is one of my favourite movies. It’s sitting on my shelf too, but I haven’t read it yet.. it’s just one of those delicious things that you NEED to have, yes? 🙂

  4. I am a very firm believer in judging a book by it’s cover. It’s just the way it works. No matter how hard I try, I can’t get into books that don’t have an appealing cover!

    Love the blog header btw!

Leave a Reply

